Cats – lost and found

5 Jan

Losing Lulu the cat was very hard on all of us, but maybe more so on our sons. Lulu, the cat, had been with us since before we had children. My youngest son’s first word was, “Lulu.”

It took me a year before I was ready to bring another cat into our lives. And, as fate would have it, we took in two ‘brothers’. We named them Albie (after Albus Dumbledore) and Montie (after Romeo Montague).
 
Unfortunately, we couldn’t bring them with us to Europe. 
 
Though I wasn’t really feeling ready to bring another animal into our lives – the loss of Albie and Montie was still too fresh – fate conspired to bring another cat into our home. We ended up adopting a 12 year old cat who desperately needed rehoming but whose prospects weren’t looking very promising.   
 
I brought my eldest (who was a few months short of his 7th birthday at the time) to pick up the cat with me. On the short drive home, he asked if we could give her a new name. Sidebar – I can’t for the life of me remember what her other name was. Anyway, I said, “I don’t see why not. Do you have a name in mind?” 
 
Without missing a beat, my son said, “I think we should name her Sawadeecat. Get it mom!? It’s like ‘sawadee ka’ but she’s a cat AND she’s a girl, so it makes sense!”
 
Sawadeecat is now an integral part of our family.
Leave a Reply

