It’s a new day! Obama supports marriage rights for all.

11 May

By the title of my post, I figure that most people have, by now, figured out where I stand on this issue. Here is a post I recently read.

I think Obama is only supporting gay marriage because he wants to be reelected.. If he really did support gay marriage why did he announce it just now, why not do anything about it during his entire term as president.?. I guess you will say whatever it takes to pull ahead when your (sic) behind in an election

My response:

I am not an American.

Nor do I find the timing suspicious in the least. When VP Biden stated last Sunday that he personally supports marriage for all he became the highest ranking member of the US government to ever say so publicly. And by doing so, in a way, forced Obama to respond. That the President of the United States came out in support of it, and with a reasoned explanation to boot, made me proud to have supported him in the first place. For the first time in history, nationally, more Americans than ever (about 50%) believe that the rights of marriage should be conferred upon all. I can understand, though I don’t agree, with those who believe that same-sex unions are a moral sin. But that’s just it, you may think it’s a sin but how do you then decide that it’s illegal. Talkin’ to you North Carolina! You don’t need a reason to make something legal. You need a reason to make something illegal. And while the spirit of our laws are based on the spirit of judeo/christian law, our laws currently reflect a shift from those ancient values. For example, we no longer consider the breaking of the first commandment a criminal offense. In fact, it is exactly that freedom and diversity upon which America was founded. So I guess what I’m trying to say is that religious morality should be kept separate from our legal system; a system which is intrinsically designed to evolved with society. A trait that is not predominate in organized religion worldwide.

One Response to “It’s a new day! Obama supports marriage rights for all.”

  1. bigmangomomma May 11, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    I suppose someone should inform the original poster that Obama was the one to repeal “Don’t ask. Don’t tell.”

Leave a Reply

