My heart skipped a beat.

30 May

May 9th, 2011

I’ve heard it said that to become a mother is to learn to live with your heart walking around outside your body. I get that now.

There have been moments when I see my son out there, walking around, laughing, playing, falling, crying, shaking it off and doing it all over again, that I’ve stopped to ponder the magnitude of sheer awesomeness it is to know that he is mine. I am his. We are each other’s. And we were once one vessel.

Today I heard my unborn child’s heartbeat for the first time.

We are one vessel. I am hers or his and she or he is mine. I have stopped many times to ponder the magnitude of sheer awesomeness that is this experience of being charged with carrying another human life in my body. And before I know it, he or she will be a physical reality to the rest of the world in a way that he or she already is to me. Too soon this child will be walking around, laughing, playing, falling, crying, shaking it off and doing it all over again.

And I will have to learn all over again how to watch my heart walking around outside my body.

One Response to “My heart skipped a beat.”

  1. Monique May 31, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Congratulations again! A new adventure ahead of you.

Leave a Reply

